Font size: A A A A
Home > Industry > Running Your Business > associations
Related topics: associations,conferences

ASTA Board Elects New Executive Committee

September 13, 2011 By: George Dooley Travel Agent


Nina Meyer was elected as ASTA's president and chair.// (c) 2011 ASTA

Nina Meyer was elected as the American Society of Travel Agents' (ASTA) president and chair, and will serve with John Lovell elected to the position of vice president and secretary. Scott Pinheiro was elected to serve as ASTA’s treasurer. Also serving on the Executive Committee will be Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) Chair Lee Thomas who will serve as director-at-large, and Tony Gonchar, ASTA CEO. The election was held at ASTA's 2011 Travel Retailing & Destination Expo in Las Vegas.

The Board also ratified the CAC’s decision to have Vice Chair John Rose serve as the CAC-member director on ASTA’s Board.
Nina Meyer began her career in the travel industry in 1976 as an independent contractor for CIA Travel, ASTA reports. After her first two years in business, she had grown a large enough clientele that she was able to open her own agency, Vision Travel. Through Vision Travel, Meyer developed a tour operation for Laker, Arrow and Eastern Airlines and established three branch locations in her first few years in business.

 In 2001, she merged Vision Travel with several other agencies to create Travel Leaders. Meyer became the national director of leisure at Travel Leaders in 2005 and worked to develop preferred vendor relationships, generate revenue, expand and train the Independent Contractor Program and mentor all management staff.
In April 2009, Meyer joined Express Travel as director of sales and marketing. There, she leads initiatives to continue the company’s growth, as well as expand its role as a leader in luxury travel.

An advocate for the industry, Meyer served four years as president of ASTA’s South Florida chapter and currently is president of the International SKAL Club of Miami. She has also served on numerous task forces and committees for both ASTA and Virtuoso. Most recently, Meyer was ASTA’s national treasurer.
The 2011/12 Executive Committee will serve a year term commencing at the end of ASTA’s Travel Retailing & Destination Expo. Serving on ASTA’s 2011/12 full elected Board of Directors will be:
    •    Susan H. Aft,  director-at-large;
    •    Lois Howes, director-at-large;
    •    John I. Lovell,  director-at-large
    •    Nina Meyer,  director-at-large;
    •    Scott Pinheiro, director-at-large;
    •    Laura Rodriguez-Verbera, director-at-large;
    •    Karl Rosen; director-at-large;
    •    Chris Russo, director-at-large;
    •    Carol Wagner, director-at-large;
    •    Lee Thomas,  CAC-member director (CAC chair);
    •    John Rose, CAC-member director (CAC vice-chair);
    •    Steve Powers (Long Island Chapter), Chapter Presidents Council Chair;
    •    Jason Coleman (Southern California Chapter), CPC representative;
    •    Leo Zabinski (Carolinas Chapter), CPC representative; and
    •    Rob Durant, ICPC chair
ASTA’s governance structure calls for a Board of Directors that consists of nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, three chapter presidents, the chair of the International Chapter Presidents’ Council (ICPC), and two Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members.


What do you think of this $type?


About the Author

George Dooley
George Dooley, Travel Agent’s senior contributing editor covering retail and technology, has a long-standing reputation as one of the top travel industry journalists. He notes...

This comprehensive guide begins at Alfava Metraxis and ends at Doctor Who Magazine wins the ACE Press Award 0 Following its record breaking ABC figure earlier this year, Doctor Who Magazine had cause for further celebration at the 2014 ACE Press Awards held viagra bedeutung online apotheke at the Museum of London. This may take a second or two.

By George Dooley | September 13, 2011
Nina Meyer was elected the American Society of Travel Agents' (ASTA) president and chair.
Filed under : associations, conferences