CLIA Urges Members to Nominate Hall of Fame

Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) urges all members, including cruise lines, suppliers and its 16,000 travel agents, to nominate names for the 2009 Cruise Industry Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame honors those individuals, past and present, whose efforts and accomplishments represent a significant contribution to and positive impact on the development and growth of cruise vacations. Those chosen for induction will be announced during a special Hall of Fame gala dinner on April 4 at cruise3sixty 2009 in Fort Lauderdale. Nominations are requested prior to February 20 and may be submitted online.

“One of the most rewarding and inspiring moments of cruise3sixty is the announcement of the inductees into the Cruise Industry Hall of Fame as they are always individuals who have helped shape and lead this amazing industry,” said Terry L. Dale, CLIA’s president and CEO. “We urge all CLIA members to submit their choices for nominees who have had a lasting, positive impact on our industry.”

Now in its fifth year, the Cruise Industry Hall of Fame recognizes three individuals on an annual basis that are selected based on nominations from CLIA’s membership, followed by a review by a nominating committee made up of CLIA’s Travel Agency Advisory Board, cruise line members, and approval by CLIA’s Executive Committee. Inductees are chosen in three categories: cruise retailer; cruise line executive; and an “At Large” category that may be any individual, such as an additional retailer or cruise line executive, a politician, publisher, or shipbuilder, whose accomplishments warrant nomination.

Nominations should be based on the following considerations: Did the nominee’s accomplishments change or affect the cruise industry in a positive way? Can the nominee be considered a positive role model? What did the nominee accomplish that sets him or her apart from others in the industry?

In 2008, the three selections made for the Cruise Industry Hall of Fame were: A. Kirk Lanterman, chairman emeritus of Holland America Line; Joanie Ogg, past president of NACTA; and Donna Flora, vice president, travel industry relations for American Express. Other illustrious inductees in the past have included: Deborah Natansohn of Orient Lines, Cunard Line and Seabourn Cruise Line; Bob Dickinson, Carnival Cruise Line; Richard Fain, Royal Caribbean International; Fred Kassner, Go Go Vacations/Liberty Travel; Marvin Davis, Cruise Planners; Joel Abels, Travel Trade; and even "The Love Boat" television series, in the At Large category.

Nomination forms are available to CLIA member travel agencies via email communications and within the Travel Agent Center (Members Area) on CLIA’s Website, After filling in the form it may be forwarded to CLIA via e-mail at [email protected].

Read more on: