This Week in Cruise: Lines Ramp Up Wellness, Culture Offerings

Towels and candles in a spa
Photo by RomoloTavani/iStock/Getty Images Plus/Getty Images

This week in the cruise industry major cruise lines announced new updates for travelers interested in wellness and culture.

Scenic announced that two of its France-based river cruise ships, the Scenic Diamond and Scenic Sapphire, now host therapeutic salt lounges following a drydock and renovation project. The three-station salt lounge aims to help guests relax and energize using the negatively charged salt ions present in the room, which Scenic claims gives it the same refreshing feeling a traveler might feel standing on a beach. The lounge is also humidity- and temperature-controlled, and it has privacy light curtains and soothing music.

The two ships with the new lounge will sail eight- to 16-day itineraries on the Rhone, Saone and Bordeaux rivers with visits to wineries and a foie gras farm.

For fans of Oprah, Holland America Line has added new guests for the O, The Oprah Magazine Adventure of Your Life Cruise onboard the Koningsdam. Clinical psychologist, author and speaker Dr. Shefali Tsabary and life coach Tim Storey will be onboard, as well as Leigh Haber, O, The Oprah Magazines books editor.

The 11-day Caribbean itinerary will depart November 29. Three other itineraries, headlined by other members of influencer collective SuperSoul 100, will set sail in 2018.

Finally, Viking Cruises has announced a number of new partnerships aimed at ramping up its onboard offerings for culture lovers. The line has signed deals with English boys choir LIBERA and the Ballet Sun Valley International Festival, as well as continued its sponsorship of the Los Angeles Philharmonic at The Hollywood Bowl.

Related Stories

Tour Crystal AirCruises New Crystal Skye

Top Cruise Announcements From Virtuoso Travel Week

Record Sales for Cruise Planners; Terrorism Hasnt Affected Demand

Cruise Planners Forum: Frank Del Rio on Luxurys Seismic Shift

Suggested Articles:

Royal Caribbean Group and Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings created a Healthy Sail Panel, but will separately present their individual plans to the CDC.

Insight Vacations has announced three new seven-day domestic itineraries, specifically designed for Americans. Here's what you need to know.

Virgin Hotels has updated its mobile app Lucy with more contactless features that guests can use from their own smartphones. Learn more here.