CHTA Elects New Slate of Officers for the 2012-2014 Biennium


Richard J. Doumeng, President of the Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association (CHTA)

The Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association (CHTA) voted in a new slate of officers at its Annual General Meeting (AGM), held on June 14, at the Half Moon Hotel, A Rock Resort, in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

The officers will be led by Richard J. Doumeng, managing director of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands, who was sworn in as president of CHTA during the AGM. Doumeng and the officers will serve the membership of CHTA for the 2012-14 biennium.

The five vice presidents and treasurer to serve under Doumeng are as follows:

1st Vice President - Emil Lee, president, St. Maarten Hotel & Trade Association and general manager of Princess Heights Hotel, St. Maarten

2nd Vice President - Alberto Abreu, director of hospitality, Punta Cana Resort & Club, Dominican Republic

3rd Vice President - Karolin Troubetzkoy, St. Lucia, president, St. Lucia Hotel and Tourism Association and owner and executive director of Anse Chastanet and Jade Mountain Resort, St. Lucia

4th Vice President - Evelyn Smith, president of the Jamaica Hotel & Tourism Association and general manager, Tensing Pen, Jamaica

5th Vice President - Willem Jonckheer, CEO of Jonckheer Advertising and Marketing, Curacao

Treasurer - James Hepple, president and CEO, Aruba Hotel and Tourism Association.


Suggested Articles:

Escape Adventures has announced a six-day camping and cycling trip in Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park. Read more here.

On June 15, the first nine flights of Brussels Airlines will take off from Brussels Airport. See the updated set of health and safety protocols here.

According to CzechTourism USA & Canada, there are signs that doors could open to international guests in the near future. Learn more here.