Vail Acquires Kirkwood Mountain Resort in Lake Tahoe

Vail Resorts has acquired Kirkwood Mountain Resort at Lake Tahoe, California.

The acquisition of Kirkwood will bring the total number off Vail-operated resorts in the Lake Tahoe region to three. Vail also operates Heavenly Mountain Resort in South Lake Tahoe and Northstar California, which just saw a $30 million capital improvement project for this season, on the north shore.

While Vail expects to close on the acquisition within the next month, effective immediately Heavenly and Northstar pass holders will have access to Kirkwood, and vice versa. Epic Pass and Epic Local Pass holders will also have unrestricted access to ski and ride Kirkwood. Tahoe Value Pass holders can ski and ride at Kirkwood every day except Saturdays, and Kirkwood pass holders with the following passes will have access to Heavenly and Northstar: Premium Pass holders and 7 Wood Pass holders will have unlimited, unrestricted access to Heavenly and Northstar, while 6 Wood Pass holders will have access to Heavenly and Northstar six days a week, Sunday-Friday, with no holiday restrictions. 5 Wood Pass holders will have access to Heavenly and Northstar five days a week, Monday-Friday. Vail reports that it intends to retain a Kirkwood-only season pass and Kirkwood-only daily lift tickets and that they will be priced comparably to what’s offered today.

Kirkwood is 35 miles southwest of South Lake Tahoe at elevations of 7,800 to 9,800 feet. The terrain boasts an average of 472 inches of snow annually, 2,000 feet of vertical drop and more than 2,300 acres of terrain. Four terrain parks range from beginner to advanced, and a Boarder X course is also available.


Suggested Articles:

The outdoor experience at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas combines a resort pool, dayclub, The Promenade and Event Lawn. See more here.

Peru is beginning its tourism reactivation on November 1, including the opening of Machu Picchu and the resumptions of flights from the U.S.

Tourism commissioner Joseph Boschulte attributes much of the success in attracting visitors to the existence of the Travel Screening Portal.