Visa-Free Travel to European Union Could Be Suspended

Photo by Varga

The European Commission is inviting the European Parliament and Council to urgently launch discussions on the lack of reciprocity in visa-free travel between the European Union and the U.S. and Canada, a move that could spell trouble for visa-free travel between the EU and the two countries. 

According to the European Commission, visa waiver reciprocity is a principle of the EU's common visa policy. Under EU rules, if a situation of non-reciprocity exists from certain countries and is not corrected within 24 months, this can be cause for suspending visa-free travel from those countries. 

Right now the U.S. requires a visa for citizens of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania, while Canada applies a visa requirement for citizens of Bulgaria and Romania. The 24 month deadline for correcting the issue has passed as of April 12, leading to the Commission's announcement. 


Like this story? Subscribe to Daily News & Deals!

Featuring breaking news on the latest product launches, deals, sales promotions, and executive appointments. Be sure to sign-up for this free industry daily newsletter.

According to the New York Times, the European Commission has set a July 12 deadline for the European Parliament and the EU member governments to offer advice on next steps. The Commission could start imposing visa requirements on U.S. and Canadian citizens after that deadline. 

EU regulations still require the European Commission to to take into account the political, economic and administrative consequences of the suspension of the visa waiver. According to the Commission, it is "highly unlikely" that EU members would be able to process the increased number of via applications within 90 days, and that a visa waiver suspension could decrease the number of travelers from the U.S. and Canada. The suspension would also likely entail considerable, economic consequences, notably for the aviation industry, as well as have a substantial impact on the EU's external relations with two strategic partners, the Commission said. 

Keep visiting for further updates on this developing story. 

Suggested Articles:

A majority of Americans are looking forward to travel again, both internationally and domestically, according to new research by Zapwater. Read more.

Milos Davidovic was announced general manager of the new Barbary Beach House Key West, a 184-room, oceanfront property overlooking Smathers Beach.

Israel’s Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of Health have outlined a new “Purple Standard” for operating hotels in the country. Learn more here.