DOT Names Aviation Consumer Protection Committee

U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood has announced the appointment of the four members of a new committee that will advise the Secretary on measures to protect the rights of air travelers.

The committee members are Lisa Madigan, Illinois attorney general, who will chair the committee; David A. Berg, senior vice president at Airlines for America (A4A); Deborah Ale-Flint, director of aviation at Oakland International Airport; and Charles Leocha, director of the Consumer Travel Alliance (CTA).

“We are committed to protecting and strengthening the rights of consumers when they fly,” Secretary LaHood said. “The members of this committee will help us build on the Administration’s already strong record of protecting air travelers.”

The FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012 mandates the establishment of the committee. The law requires the DOT to appoint to the committee four members with one representative each of air carriers, airport operators, state or local governments, and nonprofit public interest groups with expertise in consumer protection.