Nina Meyer Re-elected as ASTA President and Chair


nina meyer
Nina Meyer

Nina Meyer has been reelected as ASTA's president and chair at ASTA's recent meeting at the Travel Retailing & Destination Expo in Los Angeles. Meyer will serve on the Board's Executive Committee with John Lovell, who was re-elected to the position of vice president and secretary.

Roger Block was elected to serve as ASTA's treasurer. Also serving on the Executive Committee will be Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) Chair Lee Thomas, who will serve as CAC-member director.

Nina Meyer began her career in the travel industry in 1976 as an independent contractor for CIA Travel. After her first two years in business she was able to open her own agency, Vision Travel. In 2001, she merged Vision Travel with several other agencies to create TraveLeaders, which was ultimately acquired by what is now known as Travel Leaders Group. Meyer became the national director of leisure at TraveLeaders in 2005.

In April 2009, Meyer joined Express Travel as director of sales and marketing. There, she leads initiatives to continue the company's growth, as well as expand its role as a leader in luxury travel. Meyer is also interim CEO for ASTA.

The 2012/13 Executive Committee will serve a year term commencing at the end of ASTA's Travel Retailing & Destination Expo. Serving on ASTA' 2012/13 full, elected Board of Directors will be:

Directors at Large
        Roger Block
        Jason Coleman
        Jackie Friedman
        Lois Howes
        John Lovell
        John I. Lovell
        Nina Meyer
        Scott Pinheiro
        Karl Rosen
        Lee Thomas, member director (CAC chair);
        Marc Casto, member director (CAC vice-chair);
        Dan Smith, NACTA-member director;
        Leo Zabinski (Carolinas Chapter), Chapter Presidents Council Chair;
        Ryan McGredy (Young Professionals Society Chapter), CPC representative;
        Marilyn Zelaya (Northern California Chapter), CPC representative; and
        Michael Merrithew, ICPC Chair.
ASTA notes that its governance structure calls for a Board of Directors that consists of nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, three chapter presidents, the chair of the International Chapter Presidents' Council (ICPC), one NACTA member director and two Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members.



Like this story? Subscribe to Daily News & Deals!

Featuring breaking news on the latest product launches, deals, sales promotions, and executive appointments. Be sure to sign-up for this free industry daily newsletter.