Roger E. Block Elected to Chair ASTA Executive Committee

roger e block
Roger E. Block, president of Travel Leaders Franchise Group

Roger E. Block, president of Travel Leaders Franchise Group, has been elected as the next Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Travel Agents (ASTA).

The announcement was made during the kick off of ASTA’s Global Convention (AGC) onboard the Norwegian Breakaway sailing from New York to Bermuda Sept. 14-21. ASTA reports there are 400 plus attendees on board. 

Rounding out ASTA's Executive Committee is Leo Zabinski, who ran unopposed as vice chair and secretary, Jay Ellenby, treasurer and Marc Casto, the Corporate Advisory Council-member director. The Executive Committee serves a one-year term that begins effective with the end of the AGC.


Like this story? Subscribe to Daily News & Deals!

Featuring breaking news on the latest product launches, deals, sales promotions, and executive appointments. Be sure to sign-up for this free industry daily newsletter.

"Block has served on the Executive Committee as vice chair and secretary this past year and is well versed on our issues and well positioned to carry ASTA’s work forward," ASTA president and CEO Zane Kerby said.

Kerby praised the outgoing Board members-- outgoing chair John I. Lovell, Ryan McGredy, Peter Klebanow, Michael Merrithew, Jason Coleman and John Lovell of He also recognized the newest members to the Board--Ralph Vasami, Mike Weingart and Gloria Stock Mickelson.

As reported, Dan Smith was re-elected to hold the NACTA seat on the ASTA Board, Ertugrul Karaoglu of the ASTA Turkey Chapter was chosen by the International Chapter Presidents Council (ICPC) to fill the ICPC seat, and Marilyn Zelaya was chosen to represent the Chapter Presidents Council.


Read more on:

Suggested Articles:

Carnival Corporation issued a financial update today, with details about its liquidity, cash burn, ship sales, delayed deliveries and future bookings.

The World Travel & Tourism Council has launched the #wear2care campaign to herald the the return of safer travels. Learn more here.

Six out of 10 respondents said they would likely participate in cannabis-related activity where recreational use is legal. Learn more here.