Winter Storm Jonas Could Disrupt Travel Into Weekend

Winter Storm Jonas is set to turn into a major snowstorm on the East Coast by Friday into the weekend, with blizzard conditions forecast over parts of Washington, DC, Baltimore and New York City, The Weather Channel reports. 

According to, areas on a 1,000 mile path from near the Mississippi River to southern New England could receive six inches of snow or more. Localized snowfall from New York City to southeastern Massachusetts could approach 12 inches. Southwestern Virginia and the area from the West Virginia mountains to northern Maryland and parts of south-central Pennsylvania could fare the worst, with snowfall ranging from one to two feet, with some areas getting as much as two to three feet. 

The storm will also bring accumulations between one and six inches in the southern U.S., with snow falling in an area extending from northern Arkansas and southern Missouri to Kentucky, southern Ohio and parts of Tennessee, Accuweather said. Accumulations of up to a foot could occur in areas in western Tennessee and western Kentucky. 

Air Travel Update

According to the Washington Post, airlines have begun to issue change waivers allowing passengers to rebook their flights ahead of the storms. American Airlines, JetBlue, United Airlines and Southwest Airlines have all issued travel waivers. 

Keep visiting for further updates to this developing story.