South African Airways Introduces New Flights Between Washington D.C. and Accra

South African AirwaysSouth African Airways (SAA) just celebrated the launch of its new flights traveling between Washington D.C. and Accra, Ghana on August 3. 

SA flight #209 arrived at Washington D.C. Dulles International Airport from Accra early in the morning, while SA flight #210 departed later that day under a ceremonial water cannon salute. Both flights were operated with Airbus A340-600 aircraft. 

Celebrations at Washington Dulles Airport included a performance by local Ghanaian drummers and dancers at the boarding gate for passengers, while representatives from the Ghanaian Embassy, the South African Embassy, the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority and Destination D.C. were also in attendance. 


Like this story? Subscribe to Daily News & Deals!

Featuring breaking news on the latest product launches, deals, sales promotions, and executive appointments. Be sure to sign-up for this free industry daily newsletter.

With the introduction of the new itineraries, SAA now offers the only nonstop flight between Washington D.C. and Ghana, as well as the only Skytrax 4-Star rated airline service. Additionally, South African Airways offers connections from over 50 markets in the U.S. and Canada through its partnerships with United Airlines, JetBlue Airways, American Airlines and Virgin America via Washington, D.C.-Dulles.

As part of the airline’s continued expansion in North America, the Washington D.C. and Accra itineraries are available four days a week with continuing service to Johannesburg, South Africa, operating on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. SAA also provides nonstop service from Washington D.C.-Dulles to Dakar, Senegal, continuing to Johannesburg three-times per week and operating on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday.


Suggested Articles:

Six of Universal Orlando Resort's hotels will open on June 2, while two others will be announced at a later date. Here's what you need to know.

Fairmont's hotels in Banff, Lake Louise, Jasper and Whistler will reopen their doors to guests and visitors on June 1, 2020. Read more here.

The Faroe Islands announced it will open the borders for travelers from Denmark and Iceland on June 15. Here's what you need to know.