United Airlines Has Started Notifying Customers Selected for TSA Precheck

united club chicagoUnited Airlines has started providing advance notice to customers who are selected for the Transportation Security Administration's (TSA) pre-screening program TSA Precheck.

Eligible United customers will start to see the TSA Precheck indicator on mobile boarding passes, boarding passes printed at home or from the kiosks at some airports, allowing customers to effectively route themselves to available TSA Precheck lanes.

"Our customers tell us how much they appreciate that TSA Precheck expedites their security screening experience," said Alex Marren, United's senior vice president of network operations and United Express.

"By giving advance notice of TSA Precheck eligibility, in collaboration with TSA, we are making the screening process easier and more seamless," Marren added.

The TSA Precheck logo will appear directly above an eligible passenger's name on printed boarding passes. On mobile boarding passes, customers should look for the TSA Precheck logo at the top right corner above the barcode.

The TSA Precheck indicator will appear on boarding passes throughout a customer's itinerary whether or not the airport has TSA Precheck, so United is encouraging its customers to check that the airport is a participating location on www.united.com/tsaprescreening or www.tsa.gov/tsaprecheck.

TSA manages and operates this program and is responsible for determining customer eligibility on a per-flight basis. TSA continues to incorporate random and unpredictable security measures, so customers are not guaranteed expedited screening.

United currently participates in TSA Precheck at all eight of United's domestic hubs and at a total of 29 airports.

Qualified customers participating in this program may be eligible for expedited security screening at Anchorage, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago O'Hare, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Denver, Honolulu, Houston-Bush Intercontinental, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, Memphis, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Nashville, Newark, Orange County, Orlando, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Portland (Oregon), Raleigh-Durham, Reagan Washington National, San Francisco, San Juan (Puerto Rico), Seattle and Washington Dulles.