U.S. Travel Honors Tourism Marketing Organizations

Winners of the 2012 Mercury and Destiny awards, State Tourism Director of the Year and DMO Rising Star were announced during the U.S. Travel Association’s annual Educational Seminar for Tourism Organizations (ESTO) conference held in Boston.

The Mercury awards are given to state tourism offices by the National Council of State Tourism Directors (NCSTD) and the Destiny awards are given to destination marketing organizations at the local and regional levels by the Destinations Council. Both programs recognize members for excellence and creative accomplishment in tourism marketing and promotion, and to inspire the continued development of exciting destination marketing and promotion programs.

State Tourism Director of the Year: Wyoming's Diane Shober was honored by NCSTD as the 2012 State Tourism Director of the Year. The award annually recognizes a state tourism director who contributes to successfully raising the profile of their state as a travel and tourism destination. It's a unique honor as fellow state tourism directors cast the ballots in the election, selecting the individual exhibiting the most impressive achievements.

DMO Rising Star: The Destinations Council named Brandi Scott of the Greater Miami Convention and Visitors Bureau as the 2012 DMO Rising Star of the Year. The new award recognizes the achievements of an individual working for a destination marketing organization for less than three years, but has already made significant contributions to the destination marketing industry.

Destination & Travel Foundation - Destinations Council Continuing Graduate Student Scholarship: George Washington University Masters of Tourism Administration candidate Yuri Horowitz received the 2012 Destinations Council Continuing Graduate Student Scholarship. Awarded to a graduate student in the field of travel and tourism, the winner is selected based on goals and accomplishments in travel. 

Visit www.ustravel.org.