Carnival Extends Time in Cozumel for More Shore Excursions

carnival ship in cozumel
Photo by Runyan

Carnival Cruise Line has extended the length of time its ships spend in Cozumel, Mexico, in order to provide more opportunities for shore excursions. 

On “Cozumel Plus” itineraries, guests now have access to a variety of new excursions, many taking place on Mexico’s mainland, with tours like swimming with whale sharks, visiting centuries-old ruins and swimming in hidden caverns, and more, complementing nearly 50 existing tours already available.

Designated by a special notation on Carnival’s web site, Cozumel Plus itineraries are operated by 17 different Carnival ships offering more than 750 four- to eight-day cruises from six U.S. homeports along the East Coast and Gulf of Mexico

The additional time in port has enabled Carnival to partner with local tour operators on new, expanded shore excursion options. Cozumel Plus tours are up to eight hours in duration and include everything from extended, day-long tours visiting ancient Mayan ruins, including Chichen Itza – one of the Seven Wonders of the World dating back to 750 A.D. – to snorkeling in Xel-Ha, a group of lagoons connected by a series of bridges. 

On other excursions, guests can explore Mexico’s “secret river,” subterranean caverns connected by underground waterways with stunning natural rock formations that are millions of years old, or participate in a seasonal excursion of swimming in open waters with whale sharks – gentle sea creatures measuring up to 40 feet in length and weighing up to 47,000 pounds.

Cruises visiting Cozumel dock at Puerta Maya, Carnival’s three-berth facility in Cozumel which, in addition to offering access to the various tours via an on-site transportation center, includes a variety of retail shops, boutiques and restaurants.


Read more on:

Suggested Articles:

Six of Universal Orlando Resort's hotels will open on June 2, while two others will be announced at a later date. Here's what you need to know.

Fairmont's hotels in Banff, Lake Louise, Jasper and Whistler will reopen their doors to guests and visitors on June 1, 2020. Read more here.

The Faroe Islands announced it will open the borders for travelers from Denmark and Iceland on June 15. Here's what you need to know.