EU to Expand Borderless Travel

European Union nations agreed to expand the bloc's borderless-travel zone to the 10 new members that joined the EU in 2004, the AP reports. Czech Interior Minister Ivan Langer said the deal foresees a phased-out removal of land-border checks starting Dec. 31, 2007. "This means Europe won't stay divided into two categories," he said. Remaining airport and sea-border checks will be removed by March 2008. The 10 new members have to meet stringent border and customs-security standards before they can join the so-called Schengen visa system. A final evaluation of whether the security standards are met will be made starting mid-2007 by the European Commission. Under the compromise plan, the 10 nations would be temporarily allowed to link into the current visa-data system, which will be adapted to accommodate the new members until the new updated version is launched in June 2008. Malta, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic and five other Eastern European nations have applied for full entry into the Schengen zone, while the divided island of Cyprus opted to keep in place some border checks.

FREE Virtual Event

Pivoting Back to Travel: Phase 4

Are you prepared to guide your clients through the “new normal” of travel? Join us December 15, 2020 from 1pm-2:20pm EST for Pivoting Back to Travel: Phase 4. The upcoming installment of our FREE virtual series will feature presentations from the Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, and Seabourn on their most up-to-date travel procedures, health & safety protocols they’ve implemented to keep guests safe, activities that are open to visitors, what your clients need to know while on their trip and more! Visit www.pivotingbacktotravel to view the full agenda and register for your FREE pass.

Suggested Articles:

Thailand announced a new tourist visa for U.S. travelers to apply in advance to visit safely for up to 60 days. Here's what you need to know.

Sea Cloud Cruises plans to restart cruises in March with Sea Cloud II in the Canary Islands, and shortly thereafter with Sea Cloud in the Greek Isles.

Insight Vacations has launched its new 2021-22 Americas collection, including Latin America for the first time. Learn more here.