The Neon Museum in Las Vegas is going to include more electrified signs on view in its Boneyard exhibition space when it adds Anderson Dairy’s “Andy” Anderson, The Red Barn, Chief Hotel Court and Nevada Motel signs in September. These signs were originally showcased on Third Street just north of The Fremont Experience but have been sitting in storage.
Installation is scheduled to start the week of September 17. It should take around 10 days to finish, and once it is done, the Boneyard will have more than 15 fully restored, electrified signs. Federal Health will execute the installation.
Information on the newly installed electrified signs:
- “Andy” Anderson — Anderson Daily Milkman: Anderson Dairy was founded in 1907. The company amplified its dairy plant in the mid-1950’s while the Las Vegas valley population grew.
- The Red Barn: This establishment opened in the late 1950’s as an antique store on Tropicana Avenue by Maryland Parkway. It became a bar in the early 1960’s. Once the early 1970’s came around, it had become one of the few openly gay bars in Las Vegas.
- Chief Hotel Court: It opened in 1939 as the Chief Autel Court on E. Fremont Street, and its c. 1940 sign is one of the oldest in Las Vegas.
- Nevada Motel: the place of stay’s sign features the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce’s cowboy character.
- Dot’s Flowers: the Dot’s flowers sign pays tribute to the people who support Las Vegas’ wedding industry.
For more information, visit https://www.neonmuseum.org/