The Williamsburg Lodge, a member of Historic Hotels of America, has joined Marriott International’s boutique Autograph Collection Hotels.
The Colonial Williamsburg Company, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation’s for-profit subsidiary, will continue to own and operate the Williamsburg Lodge. Joining the Autograph Collection will allow the hotel to benefit from Marriott’s renovation system, as well as to participate in the Marriott Rewards loyalty program.
Comprised of seven buildings in Colonial Williamsburg, the Williamsburg Lodge has 323 guest rooms with modern amenities and furnishings inspired by the collections of Colonial Williamsburg’s Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum; 45,000 square feet of meetings and banquet space including two large ballrooms, 28 meeting rooms and four outdoor function areas; two Southern-inspired food and beverage outlets, Sweet Tea & Barley and Traditions; and access to The Golden Horseshoe Golf Club’s three golf courses, as well as The Spa of Colonial Williamsburg’s services and facilities, including a fitness center, two outdoor pools and indoor lap pool.
Opened in 1939 to provide accommodations for travelers to the historic town, the Williamsburg Lodge is one of the first Colonial Williamsburg hotels constructed under the guidance of John D. Rockefeller Jr., the founder and first benefactor of the town’s restoration. From the original blue stone floors to the cypress accents and reproduction folk art, the Lodge tells the story of its Virginia setting and the history of the town Rockefeller restored.