Provisional New7Wonders List Released; Features Two South American Destinations

The provisional New7Wonders of Nature list, which aims to highlight the most unique natural destinations, has been released. Votes will be checked, validated and independently verified with the official winners confirmed by early next year.

The seven destinations on the list are Iguazu (Brazil and Argentina), Amazon (South America), Halong Bay (Vietnam); Jeju Island (South Korea); Komodo National Park (Indonesia); Puerto Princesa River (Phillipines); and Table Mountain (South Africa).

Two of the seven sites are located in South America, and tourism officials are already excited about the attention it will bring to the region.

“Being part of this list will highlight two of our major tourist destinations even more,” said Flávio Dino, president of the Brazil Tourism Board, in a written statement. “It also reinforces Brazil’s image as a country with great diversity and variety of destinations, and a place where the environmental preservation of these two wonderful assets matter.”