ASTA Announces Winners of 2006 Elections

Eight people were elected Thursday to the position of national director-at-large for the American Society of Travel Agents. Two candidates tied for the ninth spot; under ASTA bylaws, the order of precedence is determined by lot. This decision will be made during the Board of Directors meeting Aug. 1–3 in New Orleans. The top five vote-getters were elected to two-year terms. They are Cheryl Hudak, Kari Thomas, Mike McCulloh, Lila A. Ford and Mary Peters. Elected to a one-year term were Jan Hammond and Frederic Bursch. Tying for the ninth were Vickie Greenlee and Bob Kern. Following are results for chapter elections in which more than one person was running for a seat. Laura Rodriguez-Verbera was elected president of the Arizona chapter; Nancy Pennington was elected vice president of the Central & North Florida chapter; and Kristin Webb-Walker was voted secretary of the Southwest chapter. Filling three director spots in the Southeast chapter are Rolfe Duggar, Janet Brown and Rae Ann Ryan. Visit [].

Suggested Articles:

Discover The Palm Beaches launched a new incentive program for travel agencies and advisors that secure business to the destination. Learn more here.

Atlanta-based Epperly Travel has announced the hiring of managing director Cassie McMillion Deifik in tandem with the expansion of its IC program.

Elizabeth Moran with VIP Vacations Inc attended the Female Leaders in Travel Conclave at Le Blanc Spa Resort Los Cabos. She's back with this report.