ASTA Board Elects Executive Committee

miamiJohn I. Lovell of Breton Village Travel Services was elected as the new Chairman of the Board of ASTA and Roger Block of Travel Leaders Franchise Group was elected Vice-Chairman. Block was previously ASTA's Treasurer and Lovell Vice-Chairman. Lovell replaces two-term Chairman Nina Meyer.

Other elected members of ASTA's Executive Committee include Leo Zabinski, of Classic Travel who was elected Treasurer and is currently Chapter President’s Council Chair.

Also serving on the Executive Committee will be Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) Chair Marc Casto, previously CAC vice-chair. The two-year terms of the newly elected directors will begin at the close of ASTA’s Global Convention in Miami this week, ASTA noted.

Lovell, the newly elected Chairman is a 29-year industry veteran and has been a member of ASTA for 20 years. He is also a second-generation, retail travel agency owner. 

Zane Kerby, ASTA president and CEO, thanked departing Chairman Nina Meyer for her service and dedication to ASTA and the travel industry.

ASTA’s governance structure calls for a Board of Directors that consists of nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, three chapter presidents, the chair of the International Chapter Presidents Council (ICPC), two Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members and one National Association of Career Travel Agents (NACTA) member director. 

At its recent meeting, the Chapter Presidents Council elected the following chapter presidents to sit on the Board: Ryan McGredy (YPS Chapter and CPC Chair), Marilyn Bell Zelaya (Northern California Chapter and Vice-Chair), and Jorge Sanchez (Midwest Chapter and ASTAPAC Chair). 

Zane Kerby, ASTA’s President and Chief Executive Officer is a non-voting board member.