ASTA Elects Directors and Chapter Officers

ASTA reports a newly elected line up of directors and chapter officers certified by John I. Lovell, ASTA'S national vice president & secretary.

“This year’s pool of candidates who indicated a willingness to give of their experience and time to serve ASTA was impressive,” said Nina Meyer, ASTA president and chair. “On behalf of ASTA’s members, we thank everyone who ran for office for their dedication and commitment to ensuring that ASTA remains the voice of the travel agency industry.”
Elected national directors-at-large who will serve for a two-year term, in alphabetical order, are:
    •    Roger Block, Travel Leaders Franchise Group
    •    Jason Coleman, Jason Coleman, Inc.
    •    Jackie Friedman, Nexion
    •    John Lovell,
National Directors serving the second year of their two-year terms are:
    •    Lois Howes, Superior Travel
    •    John I. Lovell, Breton Village Travel Services, Inc.
    •    Nina Meyer, Express Travel
    •    Scott Pinheiro, Santa Cruz Travel
    •    Karl E. Rosen, Town Centre Travel and Cruises

ASTA thanked the outgoing Board and Chapter Presidents Council members for their dedication and service to ASTA and its members: Directors-at-large Susan H. Aft, Laura Rodriguez-Verbera, and Carol L. Wagner; Corporate Advisory Council vice-chair John Rose; NACTA-member director Jesse Mackey; Chapter Presidents Council Members Steve Powers (Long Island), Rick Ardis (New Jersey), Donna Delpier (Arizona), Nora Faifer (Missouri Valley), Linda Nelson (Southeast), Joann Thompson (Rocky Mountain); and International Chapter Presidents Council Chair Rob Durant.
ASTA noted its governance structure calls for a Board of Directors that consists of nine national directors elected at-large for two-year, staggered terms, three chapter presidents, the chair of the International Chapter Presidents’ Council (ICPC), two Corporate Advisory Council (CAC) members and one NACTA director. NACTA elected Dan Smith to serve as a NACTA member-director.

The Chapter Presidents Council elected at its recent meeting the following chapter presidents to sit on the Board: Leo Zabinski (Carolinas Chapter and CPC Chair); Ryan McGredy (Young Professionals Society Chapter ) and Marilyn Zelaya (Northern California Chapter).
The 2012/2013 Board, which will come together for the first time in September at ASTA’s Travel Retailing and Destination Expo, will be composed of

Directors at Large
    •    Roger Block
    •    Jason Coleman
    •    Jackie Friedman
    •    Lois Howes
    •    John Lovell
    •    John I. Lovell
    •    Nina Meyer
    •    Scott Pinheiro
    •    Karl Rosen
    •    Lee Thomas, member director (CAC chair);
    •    Marc Casto, member director (CAC vice-chair);
    •    Dan Smith, NACTA-member director;
    •    Leo Zabinski (Carolinas Chapter), Chapter Presidents Council Chair;
    •    Ryan McGredy (Young Professionals Society Chapter), CPC representative;
    •    Marilyn Zelaya (Northern California Chapter), CPC representative; and
    •    ICPC chair (To be elected at next ICPC meeting).
The Board of Directors will elect the Executive Committee at the board meeting to be held in Los Angeles at the end of ASTA’s Travel Retailing & Destination Expo.
The following is a list of chapter positions:

Arizona Chapter
President – Staci Blunt
Vice President / Secretary – Donna Delpier
Treasurer – Leila Dada
Central and North Florida Chapter
President – Ingeborg Gaitch
Vice President – Geraldine Gregorian
Secretary – Joan Hartlieb
Treasurer – Anjaniee Rupan
Midwest Chapter
President – Jorge Sanchez
1st Vice President – Csilla Dali
2nd Vice President – Ernie Held
Secretary – Shirley Webster
Treasurer – John Werner
Missouri Valley Chapter
President – Peggy Lang
Vice President – Vacant
Secretary – Devin Hansen
Treasurer – Nora Faifer
New Jersey Chapter
President – Lucille Hirleman
Vice President – Mehmet Secilmis
Secretary – Cheryl Webster
Treasurer – David Spinelli
Pacific Northwest Chapter
President – Robert Roach
Vice President – Rebecca Brice Henderson
Secretary – Paula Hobble
Treasurer – Alex Trettin
Puerto Rico / Virgin Islands Chapter
President – Daphne Barbeito
Vice President – Rita Gisselle Vassallo
Secretary – Rigoberto Mediavilla
Treasurer – Humberto Rodriguez
Rocky Mountain Chapter
President – Richard Sattizahn
1st Vice President – Lisa Maddux
2nd Vice President – Toby Nash
Secretary – Robert Hale
Treasurer – Donna Evans
Southeast Chapter
President – Rolfe Duggar
Vice President – Arthur Salus
Secretary – Linda Nelson
Treasurer – Eugenia Duggar
Chapter Director – James Royal
South Florida Chapter
President – Michael Greenwald
Vice President – Linda Biancarosa
Secretary – Cathie Inman
Treasurer – Daniel Itzcovich
Southern California Chapter
President – Pamela Irwin
Vice President – Julie Johnson
Secretary – Monica Fawcett
Treasurer – Theodore Bradpiece
Southwest Chapter
President – Mike Weingart
Vice President – Mary Jo Salas
Secretary – Andrea Kulikauskas
Treasurer – Fredric Pelsinger
Upper Midwest Chapter
President – Gloria Stock Mickelson
Vice President – Susan Linderholm
Secretary – Jenifer Camel
Treasurer – Jane Norman
YPS Chapter
President – Ryan McGredy
Vice President – Evan McElligott
Secretary – Csilla Dali
Treasurer – Samarah Meil

Virtual Event

Pivoting Back to Travel | The Destination Weddings & Honeymoons Edition

2020 put the nuptial plans of thousands upon thousands of couples on hold, but with the promise of widespread vaccine distribution in the near future, it’s time to get back to planning and ensure your clients live out the destination weddings & honeymoons of their dreams. Hear from top suppliers and destinations on wedding venue & ceremony options, romantic destinations & resorts and more when you watch the event on-demand.
Read more on: