ASTA Honors Members at Annual Advocacy Dinner

The American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA) honored its most active members at the annual gala, the Advocacy Dinner, held during the ASTA Global Convention 2022 in San Francisco.

At the Advocacy Dinner, the society bestowed the ASTA Lifetime Achievement Award on Arnold Donald, longtime Carnival Corporation CEO, who recently transitioned to vice chair of the board. This award has been handed out by ASTA only five times in the past 12 years and requires unanimous approval from the ASTA’s executive committee.

“Our heartfelt congratulations go to Mr. Arnold Donald, the recipient of a well-deserved ASTA Lifetime Achievement Award, only the second non-travel advisor winner in our history,” said Zane Kerby, president and CEO of ASTA. “Over the past decade, he’s made an indelible impression on colleagues and competitors alike and has steered the world’s largest cruise industry company through its most trying time. Throughout his years of dedicated service to our industry, it was always clear that he personally values his partnership with the travel advisor community.”

“It is an honor to be recognized in such a special way by ASTA,” said Donald. “In reality, our accomplishments over the years are the direct results of the outstanding work by the dedicated men and women in our global workforce and the travel professionals who strive always to exceed our guests’ expectations.”

The Paul M. Ruden Industry Ambassador Award, given annually to the ASTA member who best represents the travel industry as an ambassador to multiple audiences–the government, the broader travel industry, and the traveling public–was presented to Dave Hershberger, president of Prestige Travel and former chairman of ASTA’s board of directors.

The Barbara O’Hara Award, which is focused specifically on advocacy and government affairs, was awarded to two recipients: Betsy Geiser, VP, Uniglobe Travel Center and Jenn Lee, VP of trade engagement and support, Travel Planners International.

The Haskins Chapter Advocacy Award (renamed in honor of the late ASTAPAC champion John Haskins) was presented to ASTA’s South Florida Chapter.

The annual gathering raised over $375,000 to support ASTA’s ongoing advocacy mission and political efforts. Over 200 individuals donated during the Advocacy Dinner, including company contributions from Carnival Corporation, Norwegian Cruise Line, Royal Caribbean International and Travel ALLIES Society.

For more details, visit

Related Stories

ASTA Names Newly Re-elected Members of the Board of Directors

Avoya Honors Agency With Inaugural "Avoya Flowerfly" Award

Cruise Planners Hosts 2022 Land and Luxury Symposium

Virtuoso Honors Advisors, Suppliers During Travel Week