Ebola Scare Prompts Caribbean Islands to Begin Issuing Travel Bans

Several media outlets are reporting that a cluster of Caribbean and Latin American countries have recently announced bans on entry to foreigners who have traveled through the three West African countries most affected by Ebola

On Wednesday, the Dominican Republic became the latest Caribbean island to ban entry to foreigners who have visited Ebola-affected countries.

According to eturbonews.com, Jamaica said it would not accept travelers from Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone for the time being. Other destinations that have announced travel bans include Antigua, St. Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Haiti, St. Lucia, Colombia and Belize.


Like this story? Subscribe to Daily News & Deals!

Featuring breaking news on the latest product launches, deals, sales promotions, and executive appointments. Be sure to sign-up for this free industry daily newsletter.

Haiti reports that the United Nations' seeking of volunteers to fight Ebola in Africa prompted three government ministries and the office of national security to issue a statement banning Haitians from volunteering, according to the Miami Herald.

The ban came on the heels of a request by Haiti’s health ministry to international agencies to suspend rotations to Haiti of employees from Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Nigeria and any other countries facing the epidemic.

Keep visiting www.travelagentcentral.com for more updates in this story.

Suggested Articles:

The new group tours of no more than 20 visit off-the-beaten-path locations and Italian favorites. Here’s what travelers can expect.

Carnival Corporation issued a financial update today, with details about its liquidity, cash burn, ship sales, delayed deliveries and future bookings.

Key West’s Fantasy Fest 2020, originally scheduled October 16-25, has been canceled to protect against the potential spread of COVID-19. Read more.