The American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA) has announced the nominees for two top award categories: Travel Advisor of the Year and Entrepreneur of the Year. Each prize recipient will be announced at the ASTA Global Convention in Washington D.C., August 21-23, 2018.

The Travel Advisor of the Year award, which is sponsored by Enterprise Holdings, is given to someone whose client service went beyond expectation. Entries were either self-nominated or submitted indirectly by a colleague. They were received from all over the world. Nominees are:

  • Tracy Whipple - Owner, Travel On A Dream, LLC
  • Brandi Brister - Director of Meetings & Events, Valerie Wilson Travel, Inc.
  • Marisel Aleman - Vice President, Cruise Elite, Inc. 

The Entrepreneur of the Year award, which is sponsored by the Dan and Gloria Bohan Foundation, is given to an organization or person that’s an entrepreneurial business or someone who started one. That recipient is awarded $10,000.

The three finalists for this award get to compete in a live “Shark Tank” style competition on Thursday, August 23rd. Each remaining candidate gets a little over five minutes to make a pitch to a panel of travel experts and industry veteran judges. Each judge will cast a vote for one of the finalists. One vote will come from the live audience, which’ll act together as a “super judge.” Judges and the audience can vote on one of the following finalists:

  • Katelyn O'Shaughnessy, Idoctours
  • Gee Mann, Meetings Suite
  • Patricia Hager, Senior Travel Buddy

For more information, visit

Related Stories

Signature Announces Support of ASTA Rebrand

Rising Travel Advisors Share Their Secrets to Success

Kempinski Hotels Joins American Society of Travel Agents

Taking the Kids -- What's New at Museums for Families