ASTA Honors Top Advisors, Partners and Suppliers

(Photo by Jason Dixson/ASTA)

The American Society of Travel Advisors (ASTA) honored top travel advisors, chapters and partner organizations and suppliers during the ASTA Global Convention (AGC) in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, August 25-27. The three-day convention was attended by 1,000 advisors, suppliers and industry professionals.

Travel Advisor of the Year

The top annual award for advisors is the ASTA Travel Advisor of the Year (formerly Extra Mile), sponsored again this year by Enterprise Holdings. The award recognizes the travel advisor who has gone above and beyond in the last 12 months to provide exceptional service for a client in a new and creative way, ASTA said. This year the winner is Marisel Aleman, with runners up Sylvia Longmire and Jayne Knutsen
Individual supplier awards: Given to companies that best support the advisor community, as voted on by the ASTA membership.

  • Supplier Partner of the Year: AmaWaterways
  • Supplier Representative of the Year: Vicki Freed
  • Airline Partner of the Year: American Airlines
  • Transportation Partner of the Year: Enterprise Holdings
  • GDS Partner of the Year: Sabre
  • Hotel Partner of the Year: Marriott International
  • Cruise Line Partner of the Year: AmaWaterways
  • Tour Operator Partner of the Year: The Travel Corporation
  • Travel Insurance Partner of the Year: AIG – The Travel Guard Insurance
  • North American Destination Partner of the Year: The Hawaiian Islands
  • International Destination Partner of the Year: Greek National Tourist Office Visitors
  • Technology & Transaction Partner of the Year: Airlines Reporting Corporation

Partnership awards were also given to ASTA members, chapters and partner organizations:


Like this story? Subscribe to Daily News & Deals!

Featuring breaking news on the latest product launches, deals, sales promotions, and executive appointments. Be sure to sign-up for this free industry daily newsletter.
  • Susan D. Tanzman Inspiration Award: Jenn Lee, Travel Planners International
  • Consortia Partner of the Year: Ensemble
  • Host Agency of the Year: Travel Planners International
  • Host Agency of the Year: Nexion Travel Group
  • Chapter of the Year: Great Lakes
  • Chapter on the Rise: Greater Seattle
  • International Chapter of the Year: Myanmar
  • International Chapter President of the Year: Kyaw Bohne Naing

ASTA's Travel Journalist of the Year was awarded to Jaime Biesiada, senior editor, Travel Weekly.

Related Stories

ASTA Releases Forecast on Recession Fears, Traveler Sentiment

ASTA Commits to Assisting Advisors Affected by AB5

Ensemble to Mandate ASTA Membership

ASTA Announces Entrepreneur of the Year Finalists

Suggested Articles:

The outdoor experience at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas combines a resort pool, dayclub, The Promenade and Event Lawn. See more here.

Peru is beginning its tourism reactivation on November 1, including the opening of Machu Picchu and the resumptions of flights from the U.S.

Tourism commissioner Joseph Boschulte attributes much of the success in attracting visitors to the existence of the Travel Screening Portal.